Blue Mountain Forecast concerts feature adventurous, flexible ensemble programming. As members of orchestras and university faculties across the state of North Carolina, BMF collectively presents new and innovative music in relaxed, alternative performance spaces while mixing aesthetic styles and trends. BMF holds an annual international Call-for-Scores and features winning compositions on curated concerts. See menu bar for Upcoming Events and Call for Scores application forms.

Talk from our Concerts: 

Check out the fabulous review from CVNC:

And another:

Nosferatu collaboration with Mallarme premiere:

Forecast Music was founded in Brooklyn, NY in 2001 by four composers looking to find a hands-on way to get their works performed outside of the usual academic or traditional concert arenas. The founding members were Julie Harting, Eric Schwartz, Giancarlo Vulcano, and Gal Ziv. The group became an active part of New York City’s vibrant contemporary music scene from 2002-2009. During that time the group evolved from its origins as a contemporary music band, presenting the works of just its four founding composers, to a non-profit contemporary music organization, performing work from composers throughout NYC and around the country in innovative, accessible fashion. An annual call for scores began in 2005, and literally thousands of scores flowed in from across the globe over four years. Forecast Music has always presented a mix of premieres and the all-important second, third, and beyond performances for composers, but in 2006 began to annually commission new work from local composers, a thrilling part of the ever-expanding new music mission. In 2010 Forecast began the transition from New York City to Winston-Salem, North Carolina. We have had several wonderful seasons based in the Piedmont Triad, focusing primarily on Winston-Salem and Greensboro events, and look forward to continuing our works as the region's premiere contemporary music ensemble.


2021 International Call for Scores

Fall 2021

Coming Soon!

Previous winners:

2019 Chow Jun Yi, A Night Without Voices

2017 Carl Schimmel, Alarums & Excursions

2016 Saad Haddad, Kaman Fantasy

2015 Thomas Kotcheff, bang Z

2014 Loren Loiacono, Albatross



George Heathco, Shifting Landscapes

Honorable Mention: Amelia Kaplan, Patrick Castillo


Kyong Mee Choi, To Unformed

Brian Baxter, Noise Pollution

Honorable Mention: Aaron Gervais



Jeff Meyer, La Beaute

Clifton Callender, chansons innocents


Peter Lane, Taqsim
Paul Leary, OriginX
Mark Kilstofte, Sonata, for alto sax and piano

Karim Al-Zand, Four Fables

Mike McFerron, Torrid Mix



Daniel Asia, Plum-DSII

Zack Browning, Network Slammer

George Brunner, The Last Flash of Light Before the Beginning

Jason Eckardt, Flux

Arthur Gottschalk, Contrary Variants
Daniel Kessner, Priere et scherzo
Peter Lieuwen, Shadows of Winters Passed

YouTube: Coming Together by Frederic Rzewski
10.26.17 performance excerpts